James Altucher: Self-Publishing Your Own Book is the New Business Card

I’ve been a bit skeptical recently about Lew Rockwell’s newfound love of James Altucher, but yesterday I saw the light. Because via LewRockwell.Com, I think I have now read the most important blog post I have ever or will ever read (by someone else, you understand).

Here it is:

It even just about pips this one, by Fred Reed, which I thought would be hard to beat:

Now, you might be a bit skeptical yourself, but if I was to tell you that in less than 24 hours I have put together the entire structure, with all the headings and sub-headings, plus illustrations, for a new book, and have already written most of the first draft of the first of seven chapters, you might be a bit surprised and might even want to read the article yourself.

I now also have about four or five books planned, with much of the material already written and scattered about in various places in ‘the cloud’.

Alas, modesty forbids me to reveal the title of the first of these books, but you’ll be the first to hear when it’s published on Amazon.com and Kindle, at a dollar-cost to myself of $0, though perhaps a large number of hours.

Once it’s ready, I’ll even be giving away the first 20 copies to anyone prepared to write a five-star review on Amazon. (If you feel it’s unworthy of that, just send me the book back again, and forget you ever saw it.)

However, given that I’m already two-thirds of the way through the first of seven chapters, with every heading and every illustration in the book already done, on a publishable template, it might not even take more than 50 hours to do the whole thing. (Yes, I know the temporal mathematics behind that – see two books I wrote earlier, via the ‘traditional publishing’ route; (1) & (2).)

On the Fred Reed front, after reading his piece three months ago, I have finished the 2nd draft of an 80,000 word novel, and I’m about to start on the 3rd draft, with the book due for publication in a few months time, which I’ll finish in parallel with the first non-fiction missive to the world.

I should’ve thought of writing both fiction and non-fiction years ago, of course, but that’s the wonder of geniuses, like James Altucher and Fred Reed. They make the non-obvious, obvious.

But whoever thought you’d ever learn anything useful by reading blogs? 🙂

Hopefully, if all goes well, I might even be able to give up the day-job one day. Though I suspect from what my friend Mr Richard Blake tells me, that this may be quite some time in the future, but at least I’ll have tried.

About Andy Duncan

An Austrian Internet Vigilante trying to live Outside the Asylum
This entry was posted in Austrian Economics, Blogging and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to James Altucher: Self-Publishing Your Own Book is the New Business Card

  1. Thank you for this. I know people don’t always agree with me about everything but often its a pleasure when certain people agree with me on anything.

Leave a civil and intelligent reply - Comments will be moderated

